Our Services

Vedic Astrology

The Vedas are said to be the direct revelations from the divine to the sages. The meaning of Veda is "to know" or "the "knowledge" which gives rise to awareness, intelligence and discrimination. There are four Vedas, the Rig Veda, the Sama Veda, the Yajur Veda and the Atharva Veda. They contains the transcendental, universal and eternal truth in the form of hymns, incantations and rituals regarding every aspect of life which helps human beings to lead a more meaningful and balanced life.

Jyotish (Vedic Astrology) is a part of the Vedas as it is said to be the eyes of the Vedas. In Vedic period astrology was an integral part of society and was consulted for major activities. Jyotish means to 'lighten up' or to 'enlighten'. Jyotish (Vedic Astrology) is composed of Ganita (astronomy) and Phalita (astrology).

There were eighteen major sages of Vedic Astrology, few of whose works are documented, are:

1. Surya 2. Brahma 3. Vyasa
4. Vasishtha 5. Atri 6. Parasara
7. Kashyap 8. Narada 9. Garga
10. Marichi 11. Manu 12. Angirasa
13. Lomasa 14. Pulastya 15. Cyavana
16. Yavana 17. Bhrigu 18. Shaunaka

Vedic Astrology is the oldest system of astrology in the world, which is still continuing and is practiced in almost the same older form. Calendar based upon the lunar mansions or Nakshatras continues in India and some others countries even today. Vedic astrology uses the actual positions of constellations and planets as seen from the earth (by taking into account the precision of the equinox), which gives a completely different horoscope as compared to the one used by western astrologers.

Vedic Astrology dose not only have various predictive tools but also advices remedy for minimizing malefic planetary influences. The whole zodiac circle or Kalapurusha is divided into 12 signs or Rashis of 30 degrees each:

1. Aries (Mesha) 2. Taurus (Vrishaba) 3. Gemini (Mithuna)
4. Cancer (Karkata) 5. Leo (Simha) 6. Virgo (Kanya)
7. Libra (Tula) 8. Scorpio (Vrischika) 9. Sagittarius (Dhanus)
10. Capricorn (Makara) 11. Aquarius (Kumbha) 12. Pisces (Meena)

(For more details on twelve astrological signs please see our 12 Astrology Signs page)

Apart from 12 Signs or Rashis zodiac circle or Kalapurusha is also divided into 27 Nakshatras (lunar mansions) each with a span 13.20 degrees.

1. Ashwini 2. Bharani 3. Krittika 4. Rohini 5. Mrigashira 6. Aridra
7. Punarvasu 8. Pushya 9. Ashlesha 10. Magha 11. Poorva Phalguni 12. Uttara Phalguni
13. Hasta 14. Chitra 15. Swati 16. Vishakha 17. Anuradha 18. Jyestha
19. Moola 20. Purva Ashadha 21. Uttar Ashadha 22. Sravana 23. Dhanishta 24. Satabisha
25. Purva Bhadra 26. Uttara Bhadra 27. Revati

(For more details on Nakshatra please see our Nakshatras page)

There are 16 types of horoscopes, known collectively as Shodashvarga or the Divisional Charts, and each one is used for judging a different aspect of life.
  1. Rashi or the Lagna or Birth chart of 30 degrees = All aspects of life.
  2. Hora or one-half of a sign of 15 degrees = Wealth.
  3. Drekkana or one-third of a sign – 10 degrees = Siblings.
  4. Chaturthamsha or one-fourth of a sign - 7 degrees 30 minutes = Destiny and Fixed Assets.
  5. Saptamsha or one-seventh of a sign – 4 degrees 17 minutes & 8.5 seconds = Progeny.
  6. Navamsa or one-ninth of a sign – 3 degrees 20 minutes = Spouse and many other things.
  7. Dashamsa or one-tenth of a sign – 3 degrees = Career and Profession.
  8. Dwadashamsha or one-twelfth of a sign -2 degrees 30 minutes = Parents.
  9. Shodashamsha or one-sixteenth of a sign -1 degrees 52 minutes & 30 seconds = Conveyance.
  10. Vimshamsha or one-twentieth of a sign -1 degree 30 minutes = Spiritual Progress.
  11. Chaturvimshamsha or one-twenty fourth of a sign -1 degree 15 degrees = Knowledge.
  12. Saptavimshamsha or one-twenty seventh of a sign -1 degrees 6 minutes 40 seconds = Strength.
  13. Trimshamsha or one-thirtieth of a sign – 1 degree = Misfortunes and Characteristics.
  14. Khavedamsha or one-fortieth of a sign – 45 seconds = Auspicious & Inauspicious effects.
  15. Akshavedamsha or one-forty fifth of a sign 40 seconds = For all areas of life.
  16. Shashtyamsha or one-sixtieth of a sign 30 seconds = For all general effects.
There are predefine planetary combinations knows as Yogas, and these are one of the unique predictive tools of Vedic Astrology. Yoga is a predefined rule taking Planets, Signs and Vedic Aspects into account. The effect of the Yoga, good or bad will manifest in one’s life the timing of which is determined by transit and, or planetary period.

(For more details on Yoga please see our Yoga page)

There are numerous types of Dasa systems (planetary periods). Each Dasha system has a unique method for dividing time into periods and sub periods and there are distinct ways of interpreting the meanings of periods thus allocated.

1. Vimshottari Dasa 2. Sodasottari Dasa 3. Dvadasottari Dasa 4. Astottari Dasa
5. Parkottari Dasa 6. Satabdika Dasa 7. Caturasiti Dasa 8. Dvisaptati Dasa
9. Sasthihayani Dasa 10. Sattririisati Dasa 11. Navamsa Dasa 12. Rasyamsa Dasa
13. Kala Dasa 14. Chakra Dasa 15. Kalachakra Dasa 16. Sudarsan Chakra Dasa
17. Chara Dasa 18. Navamsa Sthira Dasa 19. Sthira Dasa 20. Caturvidha Uttara Dasa
21. Brahmagrahasrita Dasa 22. Kendra Dasa 23. Karak Kendra Dasa 24. Karak Graha Dasa
25. Manduka Dasa 26. Sula Dasa 27. Nakshatra Dasa 28. Yogardha Dasa
29. Drig Dasa 30. Trikono Dasa 31. Naksatradi Dasa 32. Nabatara Dasa
33. Varnada Dasa 34. Panka Svara Dasa 35. Yogini Dasa 36. Pinda Dasa
37. Amsaja Dasa 38. Rasmija Dasa 39. Nisargaja Dasa 40. Astavargaja Dasa
  41. Sandhya Dasa 42. Pachaka Dasa  

The formulas for calculating dasha are variable from simple and precise to complex and variable. Vimshottari Dasha, Kalachakra Dasha, Yogini Dasha. Ashtottari Dasha and Navamsa Dasha are most commonly used but the most common of it all is Vimshottari Dasha, also known as Udu Dasha. There and numerous other unique features like Astavarga system, Jamini astrology system etc.

Written by Sanjay Sharma, © 2011, revised August 2014

comments powered by Disqus
Detailed Full Life Astrology
Childs Full Life Vedic Astrology
Teenage Horoscope Vedic Astrology
Determining the Best Time for Child Birth

(Manually prepared accurate horoscopes readings)
Detailed Life Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Your Child’s Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Teenage Astrology Horoscope | Career and Wealth Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Love, Relationships and Marriage Vedic Astrology Horoscope
Relationship Compatibility Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Soulmate Compatibility Horoscope | Marriage Compatibility and Matchmaking Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Health and Medical Vedic Astrology Horoscope
Spiritual and Karma Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Past Life Vedic Astrology Horoscope | 15 Years Dasa and Transit Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Gemstone Selection Vedic Astrology Horoscope
Muhurata or Election Astrology Horoscope | Numerology and Name Suggestion Report | Full Numerology Report | Numerology Compatibility Report

(Manually prepared accurate astrology readings)
Best Time for Child Birth Vedic Astrology Horoscope | New Year Astrology 2016 Horoscope | Birth Time Rectification Astrology Horoscope | Saturn's Dasha, Transit & Sade Sati Horoscope | Lal Kitab Astrology Horoscope
Relocation Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Yogas in your Horoscope and their Effects | Ask One Question Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Ask Three Questions Vedic Astrology Horoscope
Business Vedic Astrology Horoscope | Daily Horoscopes Transits | Horary Astrology or Prashna Kundli | Your Digital Horoscope | Annual or Birthday or Varshphal Horoscope

© Copyrighted Astrology-Prophets.com. All rights reserved.